Hotels in NY?!

maxmk8

Registered
So I will visit New York during the weekend of Dec 7th-9th.

I need to book a room for the night of the 8th....

I checked popular hotel sites... and I AM STILL IN SHOCK!!

$329 a night for the holiday inn... in Manhattan WTF?!

My flight is $129 there and $129 back and the hotel would cost me more?! This makes no sense... Holiday Inn over here is <$100 even in SF it is less than $150.

Any recommendations on where I can stay at a cheaper cost?! I don't mind up to 1 hr commute to and from the Hotel. But it must be accessible via public transportation.

This is my first time on the East Coast WOOOT!

Wait till you go get a cheeseburger. Bring lots of money. I was there for 3 weeks, my company gave me $500 spending money it lasted about 4 days.

I travel to NYC often for work and have found that staying in Secaucus, NJ is a much better deal. The hotels are substantially cheaper and you can easily catch a bus to the city. The hotels in Secaucus seem to all have stop right out front of the building and the desk always has a schedule brochure. The bus ride in runs about two bucks or so and during peak hours, gets you there very quickly (under 15 minutes!).
During rush hours, there are lanes to the Lincoln Tunnel that are "bus only" and you, and your fellow mass transit users, cruise right by all the people sitting in their cars. Same deal on the way out.
If you are trying to go in when the rest of the world is going out (6:30 PM), you might sit a little while in traffic.
The buses run usually every 20 minutes until midnight at which time they are not as frequent.
It's fun and easy!
The buses deliver you to the Port Authority Bus Terminal, which is in mid-town, just off the theater district.

You need a room for one Sat. night in December... that's why it's so high.

Secaucus is good but are there any hotels in Hoboken? Great town Hoboken with a view of Manhattan no less! There are also some good hotels in Queens.