are my Front Wheel Bearings going out?

Chad

Registered
When I first start moving the car forward I hear a thumpity thumpity sounds coming from the front left wheel. If I gently apply the brakes it gets worse more like a bump bump bump bump. If I press more firmly, it gets worse. I'm not sure what's worse than bump bump bump bump but I'm sure there's something and that's it. ;) If I turn right, it seems to be noticable as well. After the car gets warmed up it's not usually as bad but once in a while the noise remains after going 10 miles or so. Where can I get some new wheel bearings? Someone have a part number and source? Is it something I can manage myself assuming I know how to remove the tires, rotors and such? On a scale of 1-10, 1 being a flippin moron and 10 being a 5 star mechanic, I'm about a 5. I can change a carb, install a stereo, replace a water pump...

Chad

RE: are my Front Wheel Bearings going out?

[div class="dcquote"][strong]Quote[/strong]
When I first start moving the car forward I hear a thumpity thumpity sounds coming from the front left wheel. If I gently apply the brakes it gets worse more like a bump bump bump bump. If I press more firmly, it gets worse. I'm not sure what's worse than bump bump bump bump but I'm sure there's something and that's it. ;) If I turn right, it seems to be noticable as well. After the car gets warmed up it's not usually as bad but once in a while the noise remains after going 10 miles or so. Where can I get some new wheel bearings? Someone have a part number and source? Is it something I can manage myself assuming I know how to remove the tires, rotors and such? On a scale of 1-10, 1 being a flippin moron and 10 being a 5 star mechanic, I'm about a 5. I can change a carb, install a stereo, replace a water pump... Chad
[/div]