Brake pads

danny40

Registered
I am new here but some of the knowledge some of you guys have on this site is remarkable. This forum was my deciding factor on buying a mark viii which is buy the way a 97. I have to change the brakes tomorrow after getting the rotors cut do to the wheel shiver which seems to be common. This is my first attempt at doing brakes but sure I can handle it. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Oh is organic the way to go or what?

RE: Brake pads

Welcome! :)

From the manual...

Removal

1. Remove brake master cylinder filler cap (2162). Check fluid level in brake master cylinder reservoir (2K478). Remove brake fluid until brake master cylinder reservoir is half-full. Discard removed fluid.

2. Raise vehicle on hoist. Refer to «Section 00-02».

3. Remove wheel and tire assembly from front disc brake rotor mounting face. Use care to avoid damage or interference with front disc brake rotor shield (2K005) or wheel cylinder bleeder screw (2208).

4. Remove rear brake pin retainers (2N386).

5. Note: It is not necessary to disconnect hydraulic connections.

Lift disc brake caliper (2B120) from front disc brake caliper anchor plate (2B292) and front disc brake rotor (1125). Do not pry directly against metal caliper piston (2196) or damage will occur.

6. Position disc brake caliper out of the way and support it with a length of wire to avoid damaging the disc brake caliper and front brake hose (2078).

7. Remove outer brake shoe and lining (2001) assembly from front disc brake caliper anchor plate.

8. Remove inner brake shoe and lining assembly.

9. Inspect both front disc brake rotor braking surfaces. Minor scoring or build-up of lining material does not require machining or replacement of front disc brake rotor. Hand-sand glaze from both front disc brake rotor braking surfaces using garnet paper 100A (medium-grit) or aluminum oxide 150-J (medium).

Installation