Did I do a bad thing?

crash

Registered
I was getting my mark out of hibernation this past weekend. I changed the oil, Mobil 1 of course. But I used 10W-30 instead of 5W-30. I must be green/blue colorblind because I swore I got the right grade. Anyway, it wasn't until I was cleaning up when I realized what I did. I have not driven any miles yet and probably won't for a few weeks. I checked the archives on the other board and didn't see any definitive answer. Should I switch back to 5W-30 right away or will I be ok with the 10W-30?

RE: Did I do a bad thing?

I am not an expert but I would say that you should be fine.

I'm no expert either but I don't think 3000 miles on 10W will hurt anything.

I made the same mistake, but the engine didn't blow up for about 25 miles, so don't worry about it.

Ok, see, that's why I'm a computer science major, and not a comedian. ;-) I DID put in 10W instead of 5W once before though, but I haven't had any problems. If you had a bunch of mods, it might be more of an issue.

Whats the best to go with. The 5 weight on cold starts, or the 10, the 10 will give it better protection on colder startups, also slightly harder start, probably not even able to feel difference. The 2nd wieght, 30, is the weight when the engine is warmed up.

Is this right. I have also seen the 5w-45 or 50 or something, that should be great protection once the engine is warm.

If you are not going synthetic, why not stick with what Lincoln recommends?

The only problem you will have is slightly higher viscosity in the cold. I wouldn't run 10w30 in the winter, but in the summer there's no reason to switch it out. Once the engine is warmed up, it won't be able to tell the difference. Oil pressure might be slightly higher on start up, though. Don't worry about it.