Thermostat

Leecon

Registered
I have a new 180 degree thermostat that I was going to install. Since it gets so hot here in South Central Texas, I'm thinking about just running without one at all until I need heat this winter. Let it run as cool as possible. I've done this on older cars a lot, do you think this would cause any problems with my Mark.

Thanks for your input.

Lee

RE: Thermostat

I went to a lower temperature thermostat for the same reason. It should be OK with no thermostat. However, you may affect your gas mileage. These are heat engines. The cooler they run, the less efficient they are. I've measured a 1 to 2 MPG LOSS due to going to a 185 degree stat from a 195.

But with our summers..that is a small price to pay.

I Would be very careful running without a thermostat. I have heard the colant can pass through the radiator to fast and not give up enought heat. Don't know that for sure. If it runs hot without one, that may be why.

Wayne

Actually, I'm going to disagree, sir.

Increasing coolant flow through a radiator should improve the heat transfer characteristics of the system, not decrease it. This is why "racing" type radiators are larger -- they allow more coolant flow.

On diesels, if you take out the thermostat, it is dang hard to get the coolant hot enough to heat the interior in the frozen winter.

Cool, Then I won't worry about it. I'll just leave it out until the fall when I need heat. I want it run as cool as possible because of the summer heat and the way I drive. When I run that 500+ miles from San Antonio to El Paso @100+ mph it can be kinda warm.

Thanks for your input also.

Lee

I've had heat problems with mine driving between Fort Worth and the house when the temperature was over 100 degrees. The lower 10-degree difference in the stat decreased my running temperature by a letter.