1-2 Accumulator modification, Mercon V

Chad

Registered
Is there an easy way to determine if this has been done?
I seem to recall something about trying to feel how hard it shifts between first and second gear?

RE: 1-2 Accumulator modification, Mercon V

If you wait until you feel hard shifts it could be to late. If you don't know when the last fluid changes was done then I would just change it. when the pan is drooped I believe the accumulator piston can be verified.
Maybe someone will chime in with more detail on that.
Also that would be a good time to get an external trans cooler

Ok. I'll just go ahead and swap the liquids, filter, gasket in the trans in the next week or so.
Now... where can I grab myself the new 1-2 piston and an external cooler?
I'm not trying to get everyone to do my homework for me, but I'm a PC programmer by trade and need someone more mechanical to clue me in on the best place to get these parts ;)

Ooops I should've posted this in the drivetrain category.. sorry

FWIW, I picked up the 1-2 accumulator upgrade essentials from the local FLM dealer. If you do not, and you plan on replacing the pan gasket - be sure the pan gasket is the rubber type, not cork. As for the cooler, I got the B&M Supercooler from www.summitracing.com

Visit www.bulkpart.com for barbed hose fittings essential with the cooler install.

John, I read another post from Chad where he indicated it was a '94.

I priced the 1-2 parts at both the ford dealership and a transmission dealer. Looked at both of them and there was no difference. The parts at the ford dealership was 40 bucks more.

How to tell if you need it done. I really cant answer that. I had shuttering in the tranny and got it flushed which fixed the problem.

Then I did the 1-2 upgrade and found the spring in 4 different parts and the piston all kinds of smashed up. I can't believe that the bore was unscathed.