Finding hoses?

geckzilla

Registered
Hello, newbie here. I've been using this forum for quite a bit to find the answers for my mark 8's issues but up until now all I've had to do is lurk around and use the search feature. Great forum, I really like it. Was surprised to find out there is such a nice fan club built up around the car I bought. Anyway...

1993 model. Previous owner (some old guy) apparently only ever had it dealer serviced. Seems to be in good shape. Cooling system sprung a leak somewhere though, and in the process of replacing the water pump and thermostat, putting all of the old hoses back on seems to have broken their ability to hold water and made the situation even worse.

So I need some new hoses for the cooling system. All of the ones that go to the thermostat and the radiator except for the stubby straight one out of the back of the thermostat thing. Anyone know how I can get some new hoses? According to the Ford dealer and Auto Zone no one in the country has them in stock, except for the upper and lower radiator hoses, which should be at the store later today.

But yeah, sorry if I sound stupid. I'm not a mechanic. My brother and dad are helping me and telling me what I need to do and buy and that's what I'm doing. So am I just boned here or what?

RE: Finding hoses?

I was just going to say Autozone. Anything they don't stock locally is probably generic, and they can sell you bulk hose for you to cut to length and install. Upper and lower radiator hoses are all that i can think of that would be specific to the vehicle.

Welcome!

Welcome!

I had a coolant flush and all hoses replaced at a dealer.

www.partsamerica.com lists all hoses available, upper radiator hose, lower radiator hose, bypass hose, heater hose,...